Sri Lanka Announce ODI, T20I Squad For West Indies Tour | Cricket Information

Sri Lanka on Monday introduced the ODI and T20I squad for the upcoming tour of the West Indies. The squad was accredited by the Minister of Youth and Sports activities Namal Rajapaksa. Suranga Lakmal was named as a substitute for pacer Lahiru Kumara, who examined constructive for the coronavirus on Monday. Kumara won’t journey with the workforce but he was named within the squad.

The Sri Lankan workforce will go away for the Caribbean on February 23. Sri Lanka are scheduled to play three T20Is, three ODIs, and two Take a look at matches on the tour, below a bio-secure surroundings in Antigua from March 3 to April 2.

Earlier within the day, former Sri Lanka pacer Chaminda Vaas resigned from Sri Lanka’s bowling marketing consultant submit. Vaas has additionally knowledgeable that he won’t be accessible to tour West Indies as a member of the help workers.

“It’s notably disheartening to notice that in an financial local weather such because the one going through all the globe proper now, Vaas has made this sudden and irresponsible transfer on the eve of the workforce’s departure, based mostly on private financial acquire,” SLC mentioned in an official assertion.

“The administration of SLC, and certainly all the nation, maintain Vaas in excessive esteem as a cricketer who has excelled for his nation. His years of yeoman service have been appreciated and rewarded over time each in standing and in type. In such circumstances, this can be very disheartening {that a} legend comparable to Chaminda Vaas has resorted to holding the administration, the cricketers, and certainly the sport at ransom, by handing in his resignation on the eleventh hour,” it added.


The three T20I matches can be performed on March 3, 5, and seven on the Coolidge Cricket Floor, Antigua, whereas the ODI sequence can be performed on the Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Stadium, Antigua on March 10, 12, and 14. The primary Take a look at match will begin on March 21, and the second Take a look at will start on March 29.

Sri Lanka squad: Dimuth Karunaratne (capt), Dasun Shanaka, Danushka Gunathilake, Pathum Nissanka, Ashen Bandara, Oshada Fernando, Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews, Niroshan Dickwella, Thisara Perera, Kamindu Mendis, Wanindu Hasaranga, Ramesh Mendis, Lahiru Kumara, Nuwan Pradeep, Asitha Fernando, Dushmantha Chameera, Akila Dananajaya, Lakshan Sandakan, Dilshan Madushanka, Suranga Lakmal.

Matters talked about on this article

Leave a Reply

We appreciate your 11,80,794 clicks in January & February 2021. That is 54% more increment!. You can now follow us on Google News as well

Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial

Enjoy this news? Please spread it to the word :)

%d bloggers like this: