SpaceX launches advanced ocean-mapping satellite for NASA and Europe, nails rocket landing


A SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket launched an advanced ocean-mapping satellite into orbit for NASA and the European Space Agency Saturday (Nov. 21) in a stunning morning launch from California.

The 229-foot-tall (70-meter) Falcon 9 leapt off the pad from Space Launch Complex 4E at California’s Vandenberg Air Force Base at 9:17 a.m. PST (12:17 p.m. EST/1717 GMT). It’s payload: the oceanography satellite Sentinel-6 Michael Freilich developed by U.S. and European space and weather agencies.



Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error

Enjoy this news? Please spread it to the word :)

%d bloggers like this: